The Basics of Intra-Operative Neurophysiological Monitoring for the Clinician: A Practical Guide

Intra-operative neuromonitoring (IONM) refers to a diverse and evolving collection of techniques used to provide real-time assurance of neurological integrity during surgery. Most frequently utilised during neurosurgical procedures, the use of IONM has increased dramatically over recent years, and there is an ongoing need for structured and accessible information in its principles, implementation and interpretation.

This dynamic book provides a practical overview of IONM, in simple language and clearly illustrated. Uniquely, it is authored by experienced multidisciplinary clinicians affiliated to King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, a regional neurosciences centre in London, UK. Combining the expertise of anaesthetists, physiologists, surgeons and patients themselves, this guide represents an invaluable source of information for all staff and trainees involved in the pre-, intra- and postoperative care of patients undergoing IONM.

Chulananda Goonasekera, MD, PhD, FRCP, FCARCSI, is a consultant anaesthetist at King’s College Hospital, London, UK. A senior clinical scientist with a background in both anaesthesia and paediatrics, his clinical, teaching and research experience spans both developing and developed countries. His academic interests include brain mapping during neurosurgery, toxicology, and paediatric hypertension.

Emma-Jane Smith, MRCP, FRCA, FFICM, is a senior registrar in anaesthesia and intensive care medicine, currently at University College Hospital, London, UK. Her interests include neuro-anaesthesia, medical education and human factors, and she is a previous trainee editor of Anaesthesia journal.

There are currently no reviews for this title. Please do revisit this page again to see if some have been added.

Alina Amir

Cristina Bleil

Christopher Chandler

Pedro Coelho

James Gill

Chulananda Goonasekera

John Hanrahan

Priyanka Iyer

Holly Jones

Hannah Keeble

Robin Kumar

Rebekah Lawrence

Aditi Nijhawan

Sarah Nour

Daniel Ochieng

Neomia Pereira

Sacha Salamon White

Hazel Sanghvi

Priya Sekhon

Natalie Simon

Emma-Jane Smith

Catalina Stendall

Natasha Woodman

Buy This Book

ISBN: 1-5275-6618-8

ISBN13: 978-1-5275-6618-7

Release Date: 15th June 2021

Pages: 202

Price: £64.99