Pastoral Care in Education: New Directions for New Times

This book is both a celebration of 40 years of the National Association for Pastoral Care in Education (NAPCE) and a forward-thinking volume examining the key pastoral issues of our time. Bringing together a range of expert contributors from a variety of educational settings, the book offers fresh insights and evidence-based strategies which will be of immediate relevance for all educators. This unique volume considers a wide range of themes, from charting the early days of pastoral care in education in the UK and the establishment of NAPCE through to the discussion of contemporary pastoral challenges facing children and young people around the world. This timely volume makes the case for the centrality of pastoral care in education and offers new directions for pastoral education, research, policy and practice.

Phil Jones is the chair of the National Executive Committee of the National Association for Pastoral Care in Education (NAPCE). A former secondary school headteacher, he is a member of the editorial board for the Association’s journal, Pastoral Care in Education.

Noel Purdy is Director of Research and Scholarship and Director of the Centre for Research in Educational Underachievement at Stranmillis University College, Belfast. Professor Purdy is the editor of Pastoral Care in Education and his research interests include educational underachievement, special educational needs and pastoral care.

Dave Trotman was Professor of Education Policy at Newman University, Birmingham. He has published work in the fields of creativity and imagination in education, education policy, school exclusion, profession and educational evaluation.

Stan Tucker is a retired professor of education and social policy. He has researched and published extensively in the areas of educational disadvantage, and human and children’s rights.

There are currently no reviews for this title. Please do revisit this page again to see if some have been added.

Matthew Bell

Julianne Brown

Scott Buckler

Eleanor Formby

Rebecca Gater

John Keenan

Sophie King-Hill

Julian McDougall

Harriett Moore

Carol Mutch

Richard Pring

Dominic Riste

Laura Saunders

Matt Silver

Barbara Spears

Deborah Webster

Jo Woodiwiss

Buy This Book

ISBN: 1-5275-3246-1

ISBN13: 978-1-5275-3246-5

Release Date: 13th October 2023

Pages: 368

Price: £75.99