• Cambridge Scholars Publishing

    "[Genetically Modified Organisms: A Scientific-Political Dialogue on a Meaningless Meme is] presents the debate associated with introducing GMOs as a traditional debate between science and progress against dogma. After reading it, I hope that science will win for the sake of all of us."

    - Professor David Zilberman, University of California at Berkeley

The Musical World of Alan Hovhaness: East-West Crossroads

This book covers the creative work of one of the most prolific and prominent American-Armenian composers, Alan Hovhaness, in the context of East-West cultural interactions. It exposes characteristic features of different branches of Armenian monophonic music, traces modal structures, genre implications and allusions of Indian, Japanese, Korean musical traditions mirrored in his works.

Through the analysis of his “multi-voiced” Eastern compositions, his complex musical identity is evaluated with a special emphasis on the manifestation of the phenomenon of “Armenian-ness”.

Lilit Yernjakyan is a musicologist, Doctor of Arts, professor, Honored Worker of Art of the Republic of Armenia, and leading researcher at the Institute of Arts of the National Academy of Sciences of the RA. In 1973, she graduated Komitas State Conservatory (Armenia). In 1982, she defended her PhD in musicology at the Tashkent Institute of Arts (Uzbekistan). In 2004, she received her habilitation degree in Yerevan Institute of Arts (Armenia). Yernjakyan is the author of about 80 articles in Armenian, Russian and English and 5 monographs, including: From the History of Armenian-Iranian Musical Ties (1991) and Ashugh Love Romance in the Context of Near eastern Musical Interrelations (2009). Yernjakyan’s research is focused on Eastern traditional music, Armenian sacred and ashugh art, Armenian-Iranian and Armenian-Turkish musical interrelations, Komitas Archimandrite’s contribution to ethnomusicology, issues related to musical identity, as well as the modern art of Armenian composers.

There are currently no reviews for this title. Please do revisit this page again to see if some have been added.

Buy This Book

ISBN: 1-5275-1275-4

ISBN13: 978-1-5275-1275-7

Release Date: 21st June 2023

Pages: 153

Price: £62.99